Available for Pre-Order

Certain Darkness

product image
$16.95
Set in Downton Abbey-era post-war England, and featuring indomitable heroine Verity Kent, this action-packed series from Anna Lee Huber, USA Today bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries, is a treat for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Ella MacNeal. Historical mystery fans will "savor the intricate plotting and captivating details of the era." (Library Journal).

"WWI buffs will love the in-depth historical detail." -Publishers Weekly

March 1920 Life has turned unsettlingly quiet for former British Intelligence agent Verity Kent and her husband, Sidney. But even that false calm is about to end. As threats remain, the French authorities soon request Sidney's help with a suspect who claims to have proof of treason--shortly before she is assassinated. And Verity, too, is called to investigate a mystery . . .

The murder of a Belgian lawyer aboard a train seems at first to be a simple case of revenge. But the victim was connected to British Intelligence, and possessed papers detailing the sinking of a gold-laden German ship during the war.

As Verity and Sidney dig deeper, they discover their cases are intertwined--and a lethal adversary persists. Officially, the Great War may be over, but this is a battle of nerves and wits they cannot afford to lose . . .

Praise for Anna Lee Huber's Penny for Your Secrets

"A historical mystery to delight fans of Agatha Christie or Daphne du Maurier." --Bookpage

"Stellar mystery . . . a great read for fans of the series and all who enjoy Downton Abbey-era fiction." --Booklist

ISBN/SKU: 
9781496728517
0