Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek with Doug Moe

May 18 | 11:00AM
Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek with Doug Moe
Event Presenter/Author
Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek, Doug Moe

PLEASE NOTE: While this is a free event, RSVPs are encouraged. Seating is limited and will be first come, first served.

Can’t make it in person? Watch the livestream here »

About the book

From bestselling husband-and-wife team Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek, Finding Things is a child-centered, cozy, and conceptually rich picture book that explores storytelling, connections, luck, nature, and responsibility. For readers of Antoinette Portis, Marla Frazee, and Laura Vaccaro Seeger.

If you were on a walk and found a ball, you could take it home and play with it. You are likely to find many other wonderful things as you explore the world—maybe even a new friend—and that makes you very lucky.

Award-winning creators Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek’s collaborations are always exceptional, full of vivid and deceptively simple observations of the world around us. Finding Things features a succinct text and exquisite, emotionally rich illustrations, and encourages readers to be creative and to find purpose and connections in what surrounds them. A terrific read-aloud to treasure and share, as well as a great title for visual literacy and emerging readers, Finding Things is also a wonderful choice for social and emotional learning.

About Kevin Henkes

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors, one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller; and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include The World and Everything in It; A House; A Parade of Elephants; Chrysanthemum; and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin.

About Laura Dronzek

Laura Dronzek is a painter whose work has been exhibited nationally. Her picture books include Moonlight, by Helen V. Griffith; It Is Night, by Phyllis Rowand; White Is for Blueberry, by George Shannon; Little Houses, by Kevin Henkes; and a quartet of seasonal picture books also by Kevin Henkes. She lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

Event Location
Mystery to Me
Ticketed Event
On
Ticket URL
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kevin-henkes-and-laura-dronzek-with-doug-moe-tickets-874516050047