Past Events

Andy Rash

Join us for Eclipse before the total eclipse on April 8th!

PLEASE NOTE: While this is a free event, RSVPs are encouraged. Seating is limited and will be first come, first served.

Can’t make it in person? Watch the livestream here »

About the book

Shimmering rays shine around the moon. I try not to blink.

We are in the perfect place at the perfect time.

After hearing about the total solar eclipse happening in two months, a boy makes a plan with his father to go see it. They drive down and camp out, not wanting to miss the couple of minutes when the sun will be completely hidden by the moon. When the moment happens, being together makes it even more special.

Based on a trip that author-illustrator Andy Rash took with his son to see the eclipse in August 2017, Eclipse is a heartfelt and playfully illustrated ode to seeking out unique adventures and savoring the most special moments with the people you love. Back matter about eclipses and maps of eclipses' paths across the United States make this book perfect for the STEAM curriculum.

About the author

Andy Rash is the author and illustrator of several acclaimed picture books, including The Happy Book, Unstinky, Archie the Daredevil Penguin, and Are You a Horse. Andy's illustrations have been featured in the New York Times, Time, Wired, the New Yorker, and other national publications, and his animations have been shown on Nickelodeon. Andy teaches illustration at the Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, with his wife and two children.

Mar 02 11AMLocation: Mystery to MePresenter: Andy Rash
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/eclipse
Yes
Andrew Graff in Conversation with Nickolas Butler

For more information about this event, please visit the Wisconsin Book Festival website. »

Feb 28 07PMLocation: Central Library - Community Room 301 & 302Presenter: Andrew Graff in Conversation with Nickolas Butler
No Tickets
No
Amy Pease in Conversation with Cayce Osborne

PLEASE NOTE: While this is a free event, RSVPs are encouraged. Seating is limited and will be first come, first served.

Can’t make it in person? Watch the livestream here »

About the book

The dark underbelly of an idyllic Midwestern resort town is revealed in the aftermath of a murder with ties to America's opioid epidemic in this unputdownable and thrilling debut that is perfect for fans of James Lee Burke, William Kent Krueger, and Mindy Mejia.

Eli North is not okay.

His drinking is getting worse by the day, his emotional wounds after a deployment to Afghanistan are as raw as ever, his marriage and career are over, and the only job he can hold down is with the local sheriff’s department. And that’s only because the sheriff is his mother—and she’s overwhelmed with small town Shaky Lake’s dwindling budget and the fallout from the opioid epidemic. The Northwoods of Wisconsin may be a vacationer’s paradise, but amidst the fishing trips and campfires and Paul Bunyan festivals, something sinister is taking shape.

When the body of a teenage boy is found in the lake, it sets in motion an investigation that leads Eli to a wealthy enclave with a violent past, a pharmaceutical salesman, and a missing teenage girl. Soon, Eli and his mother, along with a young FBI agent, are on the hunt for more than just a killer.

If Eli solves the case, could he finally get the shot at redemption he so desperately needs? Or will answers to this dark case elude him and continue to bring destruction to the Northwoods?

About Amy Pease

Amy Pease is an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin and the Madison Writer’s Studio, and works as a nurse practitioner, where she is a nationally recognized HIV specialist. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two children. Northwoods is her first novel.

About Cayce Osborne

Cayce Osborne is a writer and graphic designer from Madison, WI. When not writing, she spends her time hanging out with her husband and two sons, reading library books, walking her dog, subscribing to way too many streaming services, and attempting arts and crafts. Her short fiction has appeared in many literary magazines and anthologies, including Exposition Review, Atlas + Alice Literary Magazine, and Pizza Parties and Poltergeists. I Know What You Did is her debut novel. Learn more at cayceosborne.com.

Feb 27 06PMLocation: Mystery to MePresenter: Amy Pease in conversation with Cayce Osborne
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/northwoods-2
Yes
Amy Pease in Conversation with Cayce Osborne

PLEASE NOTE: While this is a free event, RSVPs are encouraged. Seating is limited and will be first come, first served.

Can’t make it in person? Watch the livestream here »

About the book

The dark underbelly of an idyllic Midwestern resort town is revealed in the aftermath of a murder with ties to America's opioid epidemic in this unputdownable and thrilling debut that is perfect for fans of James Lee Burke, William Kent Krueger, and Mindy Mejia.

Eli North is not okay.

His drinking is getting worse by the day, his emotional wounds after a deployment to Afghanistan are as raw as ever, his marriage and career are over, and the only job he can hold down is with the local sheriff’s department. And that’s only because the sheriff is his mother—and she’s overwhelmed with small town Shaky Lake’s dwindling budget and the fallout from the opioid epidemic. The Northwoods of Wisconsin may be a vacationer’s paradise, but amidst the fishing trips and campfires and Paul Bunyan festivals, something sinister is taking shape.

When the body of a teenage boy is found in the lake, it sets in motion an investigation that leads Eli to a wealthy enclave with a violent past, a pharmaceutical salesman, and a missing teenage girl. Soon, Eli and his mother, along with a young FBI agent, are on the hunt for more than just a killer.

If Eli solves the case, could he finally get the shot at redemption he so desperately needs? Or will answers to this dark case elude him and continue to bring destruction to the Northwoods?

About Amy Pease

Amy Pease is an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin and the Madison Writer’s Studio, and works as a nurse practitioner, where she is a nationally recognized HIV specialist. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two children. Northwoods is her first novel.

About Cayce Osborne

Cayce Osborne is a writer and graphic designer from Madison, WI. When not writing, she spends her time hanging out with her husband and two sons, reading library books, walking her dog, subscribing to way too many streaming services, and attempting arts and crafts. Her short fiction has appeared in many literary magazines and anthologies, including Exposition Review, Atlas + Alice Literary Magazine, and Pizza Parties and Poltergeists. I Know What You Did is her debut novel. Learn more at cayceosborne.com.

Feb 27 06PMLocation: Mystery to MePresenter: Amy Pease in conversation with Cayce Osborne
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/northwoods-2
Yes
The Lineup from Soho Crime: Winter Showcase

Join us for the Winter Showcase featuring Kate Brody (RABBIT HOLE), Nicolas Ferraro (MY FAVORITE SCAR), and David Downing (UNION STATION).

Feb 26 02PMLocation: Livestreaming on CrowdcastPresenter: Kate Brody, Nicolás Ferraro, and David Downing
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/winter-showcase
Yes
The Lineup from Soho Crime: Winter Showcase

Join us for the Winter Showcase featuring Kate Brody (RABBIT HOLE), Nicolas Ferraro (MY FAVORITE SCAR), and David Downing (UNION STATION).

Feb 26 02PMLocation: Livestreaming on CrowdcastPresenter: Kate Brody, Nicolás Ferraro, and David Downing
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/winter-showcase
Yes
The Lineup from Soho Crime: Winter Showcase

Join us for the Winter Showcase featuring Kate Brody (RABBIT HOLE), Nicolas Ferraro (MY FAVORITE SCAR), and David Downing (UNION STATION).

Feb 26 02PMLocation: Livestreaming on CrowdcastPresenter: Kate Brody, Nicolás Ferraro, and David Downing
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/winter-showcase
Yes
MTM Book Club

What holds more secrets in the library: the ancient books shelved in the stacks or the people who preserve them?

Liesl Weiss has been (mostly) happy working in the rare books department of a large university, managing details and working behind the scenes to make the head of the department look good. But when her boss has a stroke and she’s left to run things, she discovers that the library’s most prized manuscript is missing.

Liesl tries to sound the alarm and inform the police about the missing priceless book but is told repeatedly to keep quiet to keep the doors open and the donors happy. But then a librarian goes missing as well. Liesl must investigate both disappearances, unspooling her colleagues’ pasts like the threads of a rare book binding as it becomes clear that someone in the department must be responsible for the theft. What Liesl discovers about the dusty manuscripts she has worked among for so long—and about the people who preserve and revere them—shakes the very foundation on which she has built her life.

Feb 21 06PMLocation: Garth's Brew BarPresenter: MTM Book Club - Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
No Tickets
No
CANCELLED: Harper Hazelmare

This event has been cancelled.

About the book

A sci-fi thriller, Terms of Agreement delivers a fast-paced punch of what education may look like in the future. Our narrator descends back into time, fearful of the past and their higher-ups, to stop the next round of bombings in outlying colonies. They grapple with the pain of the past and present---and also the one that got away. A heartbreaking story of growing up, growing complicit, and growing uncertain of a world in crisis.

About the author

Harper Hazelmare (she/they + we/our/ours) is a non-binary, queer, disabled botanical artist, writer of cautionary tales, and keeper of a community apothecary. Their work has been published in "Lived Collective" and "The Shallot" magazines, and also shown in Chicago and New York exhibitions. Her current book Terms of Agreement is available through Bottlecap Press. Find out more on IG @brown.horse.herbal.

Feb 21 06PMLocation: Mystery to MePresenter: Harper Hazelmare
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/live-mtm-harper-hazelmare-tickets-796211559207
No
Lesa Knollenberg

PLEASE NOTE: While this is a free event, RSVPs are encouraged. Seating is limited and will be first come, first served.

Can’t make it in person? Watch the livestream here »

About the book

Ex-marathoner Sam Jameson can't run from her problems anymore. She begins a hot yoga practice to conquer her paralyzing grief, loneliness, and guilt over a shameful past. As she cautiously forms new relationships with a mentor, lover, and a friend, she discovers she's being stalked. As the heat rises, she realizes one of them wants her dead. If Sam can't discern ally from adversary, corpse pose could take on a whole new meaning.

About the author

Lesa Knollenberg is a freelance writer who enjoys country living just outside of Madison, Wisconsin. When she's not writing, you can find her in the hot yoga studio, in nature with her family, or giving presentations on the writing life to students. Corpse Pose is the first in her series of suspense novels set in the world of fitness. To learn more and sign up for her newsletter, visit www.lesaknollenberg.com.

Feb 20 06PMLocation: Mystery to MePresenter: Lesa Knollenberg
https://www.crowdcast.io/c/corpse-pose
Yes