Virtual Book Launch: The Second Home by Christina Clancy with Ann Garvin

Thursday, June 04th

7:00p

Register for the Crowdcast livestream here!

Mystery to Me is honored and delighted to be hosting Christina Clancy's launch for her extraordinary debut, The Second Home! Join us for a conversation between Christina and author Ann Garvin as they discuss The Second Home and we hear a little bit from the book! 

About the Book

A debut novel set on Cape Cod that centers on a beloved family home and the summer that changed the lives of three siblings forever, perfect for readers of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand.

After a disastrous summer spent at her family's summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen year old Ann Gordon is left harboring a secret that changes her life forever, and creates a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted brother, Michael.

Now, fifteen years later, her parents have died, and Ann and her sister Poppy are left to decide the fate of the old Wellfleet home that's been in the Gordon family for generations. While they both love the house, they decide to sell it and move forward. But then Michael re-enters their lives with a legitimate claim to a third of the estate. He wants the house. But more than that, he wants to set the record straight about that long ago summer.

Reunited after years apart, these very different siblings are forced to decide if they can continue to be a family--and in the process, they'll discover that the house might be the glue that holds them together. 

About the Author

My debut novel, The Second Home, will be published June, 2020, St. Martin's Press.

The novel reflects my obsession with old houses, family, Cape Cod and summer vacation. 

I currently live with my very tall husband John in Madison, Wisconsin, in a 104-yr old Prairie-style home, which means no repair is simple or cheap. As my brother-in-law says, my house makes him tired. We have a guesthouse, or "granny cottage," that we run as an Airbnb, so I'm no stranger to second homes.

Although I love old houses, instead of fixing them I'd rather spend time with my kids, Olivia and Tim, or write, run, cycle, SUP, practice yoga and follow politics. I'm a certified spin instructor, and I serve on the board of Wisconsin Conservation Voters.

 In 2011, I received my PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee with a specialty in eco-criticism and suburban literature, and I taught creative writing at Beloit College. I go by Dr. Clancy when I'm vying for a hotel room upgrade; otherwise you can call me Christina or Christi.